Spanish Nutrition Society

History of the SEÑ

[Constitution] [Evolution]


On December 11, 1978, as a consequence of the accord reached two years earlier in the Federation of Societies of Experimental Biology (FESEB), a meeting was held in the former Patronato Juan de la Cierva, of the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (C.S.I.C.: The Spanish National Research Council), on the Madrid street of Serrano, attended by Drs. Grande Covián, Varela, Mataix, Rojas, Boza, Canosa, Charro, Gálvez, Vázquez, Zorita, Vivanco, De la Morena, Padrón, Fernández Cruz y Tojo (the last two represented by others), for the object of constituting the Sociedad Española de Nutrición (SEÑ: The Spanish Society of Nutrition).

This meeting served to create an administrative board, presided over by Dr. Grande Covián and composed of Drs. Varela, Mataix and De la Morena, which was made responsible for drawing up the articles of association that govern the SEÑ, which were enrolled in the Registry of Associations of the Spanish Interior Ministry on September 4, 1979. They set forth the major objective: to establish a society to promote the development of Nutrition in Spain.

The articles of association also include the priorities of the SEÑ, one of the most important of which is the commitment to establish relations with nutrition societies in other countries, the desire to form part of supranational federations or associations, specifically, the International Union of Nutritional Sciences (IUNS) and the Federation of European Nutrition Societies (FENS), in which the SEÑ is presently the only Spanish member.


Since then, the SEÑ, faithful to its foundational objectives, is represented in international organisms and promotes the development of Nutrition as a multidisciplinary science, sponsoring publications, establishing links with other Spanish societies associated with related sciences and with foundations (as is the case of the Fundación Española de la Nutrición [Spanish Nutrition Foundation]), and making it easier for its members, over 400 at the present time, to establish and maintain periodic contacts that enable them to share experiences and results. Among its principal means of diffusion are the journals Nutrition, The International Journal of Applied and Basic Nutritional Sciences, edited by Dr. Meguid (USA), and Nutrición Hospitalaria.


  • 2018-2022 | María del Puy Portillo Baquedano (Universidad del País Vasco)
  • 2016-2018 | Luis Moreno Aznar (Universidad de Zaragoza)
  • 2012-2016 | Ángel Gil Hernández (Universidad de Granada)
  • 2010-2012 | Rosaura Farré Rovira (Universidad de Valencia)
  • 2007-2010 | Gregorio Varela-Moreiras (Universidad CEU)
  • 2003-2007 | Ascensión Marcos Sánchez (C.S.I.C.)
  • 2001-2003 | Salvador Zamora Navarro (Universidad de Murcia)
  • 1999-2001 | J.Alfredo Martínez Hernández (Universidad de Navarra)
  • 1997-1999 | Julio Boza López (C.S.I.C.)
  • 1979-1997 | Gregorio Varela Mosquera (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)